Why 5.0?

5.0 was chosen to represent a meta-level of integration across the following models (that each have themselves 4 principle dimensions):

Behavioural Archetypes (x4)
Developmental Stages (x4)
Perspectives or Validities (x4)
Complexity Domains (x4)
  • ARCHETYPES: Four archetypes taken from a range of sources
    • Competing Values Framework (Cameron and Quinn) - Create; Control; Compete; Collaborate
    • Jungian Archetypes - King; Warrior; Magician; Lover
      • Supports a dialogical approach to organizational development, with a notion of constructive conflict across competing organizational types
  • STAGES: Developmental action logics (such as Spiral Dynamics, and Clare Graves' research)
    • Diagnostic approach, with a notion of directionality = "The Arrow" (increasing complexity)
    • The notion of spiraling archetypes in Spiral Dynamics points towards how moving upwards to greater complexity happens in conjunction with greater integration down the spiral. 
  • PERSPECTIVES / VALIDITIES: The Four Quadrants from Ken Wilber / Jurgen Harbermas / E.F. Schumacher / Plato; each perspective having an independent validity claim (in brackets)
    • Objective (Science)
    • Inter-Objective (Justice)
    • Subjective (Aesthetic-Arts)
    • Inter-Subjective (Morals)
The above list is my own version as to how Ken Wilber's Integral model includes: 
  • Quadrants; Levels; Lines; States; Types
The Table below shows the proposed correlations between the archetypes and developmental stages:

 Organization Archetype 5.0 
Competing Values
(Cameron and Quinn)
CreateControlCompeteCollaborateEmerging combination of archetypes

Spiral Dynamics
(Beck / Cowan)
Beige / Purple

(Survival - Safety)

(Power - Impulsive)




And the table below shows the 4 quadrant perspectives, with the Integral Critical Thinking associations to Jurgen Harbermas' work

From "WHAT IS INTEGRAL CRITICAL THEORY?" www.IntegralWorld.net By Joe Corbett

Organization 5.0 is also a heading to capture the group of companies characterised as:

Such organizations work with complexity in ways such as:
  • Seeking and coordinating contrasting perspectives in decision making
  • Ethical and values based reasoning.
  • Understanding of the self (and developmental journies)
    • accompanying not just optimum and healthy behaviours (opinion based), but building individuals' skills and capacities in handling complexity (measurable, scientificly based - ref. Lectica) 

5.0 is more specifically chosen to convey the notion of stages and directionality, inspired by the developmental stages (of individuals) research heritage from people such as Jean Piaget, Clare Graves, Susanne Cook-Greuter, Jenny Wade, Robert Kegan, Laurence Kohlberg, Bill Torbert, Don Beck (Sprial Dynamics) and Ken Wilber (Integral Theory meta-analysis).

The specific stage of 5.0 correlates to the shift to "2nd Tier" in the language of Spiral Dynamics. A summary of the Developmental Model in terms of an Individual's growth can be found below (credit FormlessMountain.com).

And there are two important "buts"! 
  • Directionality does not translate into an all-winning replacement formula. Every stage (or every archetype) has its role to play, and has its share of strengths and pathologies, including 5.0. Further descriptions on the ever-present nature of all the stages can be found below. 
  • As you'll get used to seeing on this website, there is the dialectical aspect. where Directionality only exists with its opposite of Circularity. Otherwise referred to as "the Circle and the Arrow". Circularity relates to how the stages ebb and flow according to factors such as the environment and life-cycle (individual or collective).

(Image created by Steve Self (FormlessMountain). Based on the work of Ken Wilber, Don Beck and others)

Another corner stone in the theoretical framework of "Organization 5.0" is the Competing Values Framework. This framework segments into four quadrants the qualities of collectives, according to their primary mode of functioning.

Taking each Quadrant, the primary operating strength of each can be seen to be:
  • Adhocracy (flexible, externally orientated) = CREATE
  • Clan (flexible, internally orientated) = COLLABORATE
  • Hierarchy (centralised, internally orientated) = CONTROL (or optimise)
  • Market (centralised, externally orientated) = COMPETE
The above four modes of operating can be considered in their order of a typical organisational or collaborative life-cycle - 1.0 Create > 2.0 Collaborate > 3.0 Optimise > 4.0 Compete, giving rise to the notion of an Organisation 5.0 being one that consciously cultivates, supports and balances each of these modes.  

And correlations of the Developmental Stages framework to collectives (by John Oliver):

Archetypes, Stages and Perspectives

Stages Correlated to Management Books:
  • "Tribal Leadership": Blue

 ArchetypesStages Perspectives